We won’t pay full price for fabulous

Standard

Good Morning! It is a chilly morning in Atlanta so I decided that slippers and tea would substitute for sneakers and smoothies (at least until later today).  Danny and I are traveling to Boston for a family event tomorrow and there are lots of errands to tackle in preparation. 

shot_1320933514100

I started off the day with a bowl of fluffy banana oats (thanks KATH for sharing the technique!) topped with toasted walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg and ground flax seed. This was enjoyed alongside a mug of Trader Joe’s  candy cane green tea. It tastes like vanilla and peppermint and smells like Christmas!IMAG0309

Last night I met my friend Bree (a fellow Atlanta transplant…although she has been here for many years) for dinner along Atlanta’s Buford Highway. The area  is essentially an urban Epcot center. Unlike many other cities that I have lived in or visited that have ethnic food “neighborhoods” (sigh, I miss my modern pastry cannolis from the North End)  Atlanta has a single  stretch of road that includes cuisines and markets from around the world.

Over the past few weeks, Bree and I have been choosing restaurants for our meet-ups that feature special deals or scout mob discounts. We picked Panahar, a Bangladeshi restaurant, to put my 25 % off new diner coupon to good use. I first visited Panahar last month and was blown away. When you dine in a large group, as we did  last time, the owner picks all of the plates for you. He also provides the “newbies” with a 25% off coupon that may be used unlimited times for 30 days. It is also BYOB…another great way to save!

indian 4

indian 3Indian food 1

 (I had some fun playing with the new picplz photo app I downloaded today)

We chose Poori Shrimp (sautéed shrimp & onions) to start then shared Chicken Teek-ka Moshol-la  (chicken in a herb, tomato & cream sauce) and Shaag Poneer (spinach in a cheesy sauce) alongside rice with peas and the mixed naan plate. We were both stuffed when we finished and Bree was able to take enough leftovers home for her husband to have a full meal tomorrow. And the sweet ending…the check. Our meal rounded out to 14$ a piece! A great deal considering HOW MUCH food we got!

Well, I’m off to get a jump start on my list! Enjoy your day.

Do you enjoy trying or cooking new cuisines?

2 responses »

  1. Love Panahar and everything on Buford Highway. If you are looking for some great Pho in this chilly weather, try out Pho Dai Loi 2 (I love how they always have numbers;) http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/9/126282/restaurant/Druid-Hills-Emory/Pho-Dai-Loi-2-Atlanta
    The “small” bowl of pho ga is $5 and humongous – so amazing; tastes of lemongrass, thai basil and limes…probably the best pho broth i have ever had. Their basil rolls are also to die for and my sinful treat is always their avocado shake (a sweet shake with avocado as the base – OMG totally addictive:) Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

