Pumpkin Season is Not Over

Standard

Good Morning!

I do not know about you, but I love all things pumpkin!  Pumpkin bread, pumpkin lattes, pumpkin oatmeal, and so much more.  Pumpkin season is not over!  Some places have taken pumpkin recipes off of their menu because it is November, but I think we still have many more weeks to enjoy all that pumpkin has to offer.

Usually, I start my day with oats, but I decided to change things up today.  Instead, I made a pancake packed with all of my favorite breakfast ingredients ( inspired by a pumpkin post on Facebook from fitbook by fitlosophy).  I used a 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of pumpkin, 1 egg, 1 egg white, walnuts (loved the crunch), nutmeg, and lots of cinnamon.  I topped it with a dollop of Trader Joe’s Plain Greek Yogurt and more cinnamon.  I also had a heartwarming cup of decaf earl grey tea with a splash of almond milk.  I feel so good!  I am confident that this breakfast will get me through teaching my very first yoga class in Atlanta.  I am nervous and excited all at the same time. 

Pancake

Last night, I wanted to try a new recipe with pumpkin, so I made pumpkin bars.  I love to bake clean and easy dishes. 

loaded pumpkin bars

(inspired by The Daily Crumb and love veggies + yoga)

  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup light brown sugar packed
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, beat almond butter, pumpkin puree, eggs, brown sugar + vanilla.  In a separate bowl, sift oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon + nutmeg.  Slowly add flour mixture to wet ingredients, about 1/2 cup at a time, and mix until just combined.  Pour mixture into 9 x 9 or 9 x 13 baking pan and bake for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Pumpkin BarsBars with Greek Yogurt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bars were fantastic!  I added some Trader Joe’s Plain Greek Yogurt (of course).  The best part is that my husband thought they were great. He has never seen me bake until we moved to Atlanta.  He loves my new hobby.

We will see how long these bars last.  I have a feeling they will be gone by the weekend.  I am off to teach yoga!

 What are some of your favorite pumpkin recipes?

7 responses »

  1. I LOVE all things pumpkin. I don’t think it ever goes out of style:) My favorite breakfast is 1/3 cup raw oat bran cooked with 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/3 cup pumpkin puree and a dash of vanilla and cinnamon. Sometimes when I’m feeling fancy I will roast and “candy” some pumpkin seeds (fresh out of the pumpkin) and throw them on top. I love your pumpkin chili idea and I’ll definitely try the 2 recipes above. I also love pumpkin as a baking substitute for brownies, cookies, etc – so much fiber and vitamin A added without as much fat from the oil (but you girls already knew all of that):) One more thing: I love to make smoothies with it too: frozen banana, pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, a teeny bit of raw sugar, almond milk and some almond butter – amazing!! Love your NEW blog – excited to see more. xox Rachel

    • Thanks Rachel, glad you enjoy the blog. We are having lots of fun working on it. Your pumpkin oats sound great! I have tried baking with pumpkin… So far used it as an oil and egg substitute in Brownies and with trader joes pumpkin bread mix. Made both super cakey and very good! My only complaint is that it makes it messier to cut, but ill take that anyday to get an extra dose of pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

