Under Pressure

Standard

Beans, Beans they’re good for your heart, the more you eat them, the more you…I think we all know the ending to that one.

When I arrived home tonight, I was looking for a quick, nutritious and healthy meal. I have a few new recipes on the docket for Danny’s return tomorrow so the goal for tonight was keeping things simple. But, simple doesn’t mean boring and I figured I would try a new recipe (a step up from the heaping bowl of cereal that I’ve turned to on nights like this in the past).

I included the ingredients for the wild rice & beans recipe Stephanie had shared on my grocery list..most were actually in my pantry already. I had never cooked wild rice before and was a little taken aback when I saw that it takes about 60 minutes to prepare. That definitely did not meet the criteria for this evening. Enter the pressure cooker…

IMG_0587

This was a registry item that was added last minute on the insistence of some friends. Danny and I have used it once so far and after working out some kinks made some great pulled pork. A quick review of the owner’s manual confirmed that the rice would cook much much faster, so I ran with it.

As I prepped the rest of the ingredients, I realized that I didn’t know how to clean, prep and chop the leeks. I am such a leek novice that I needed the produce guy at Whole Foods to point me in the right direction.

IMG_0589

Nothing a little YouTube can’t fix!

The rest of the meal came together pretty easily and was on the table in less than 35 minutes.

IMG_0592IMG_0591

I topped the dish with some goat cheese crumbles and added a side of sautéed brussel sprouts leftover from the other night. It was healthful and clean and full of protein and fiber.  It definitely had an earthy and hearty texture and taste and the verdict is still out on this one. I may need to play around with herbs and seasoning if I make this again. Lots of leftovers for lunch!

I’m looking forward to hearing Stephanie’s take on the meal.

What is your favorite go-to meal after a busy day?

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

