Busy Busy Day

Standard

I love starting my day with overnight oats because all you have to do is take them out of the fridge, microwave them for 30 seconds to take the chill off, and enjoy!  It was time to take things to the next level. 

Last night, I decided to use my almost-empty peanut butter jar to make overnight oats in a jar.  Thank you, Kath!  I was very excited when I saw my peanut butter jar dwindling down to that point where there really is not enough to spread on a piece of bread.  The trumpets sounded (in my head at least)…it was time to give this a go!   Before I went to bed, I put 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of greek yogurt, and tons of cinnamon into my almost-empty peanut butter jar.  I mixed it all together, and put it back in the refrigerator for the morning.

I practically ran to my car after training this morning because my mouth was watering thinking about what was waiting for me in the refrigerator.  I added some blueberries, flax, and bee pollen. 

This is officially my new favorite breakfast.  Unfortunately, I can’t have it all the time, but it does make getting through a jar of nut butter that much more exciting!

Before

oats in a jar

After…so sad.

finished outs 

After breakfast, I went to Body Pump at Adrenaline.  Check out an article that Tina from Carrots ‘N’ Cake wrote about Body Pump for beginners.  Body Pump is a great total body workout. 

photo-5                                      photo-6

15 minutes later, I had my protein shake made with almond milk and Gold Standard Whey.   I prefer the chocolate flavor.  I have yet to find the perfect whey protein that tastes good, is reasonably priced, and made with natural ingredients.  I have to say, I really enjoyed my shake this morning.  It is important to feed your muscles pretty soon after your workout.  They are hungry!  I also had a rice cake with it for the added carbs. 

photo-7

After the gym, I went over to a new friend’s house for a very wholesome lunch (homemade chicken pot pie and pumpkin cheesecake).  Sarah was there (she introduced me to everyone) along with other women who have all recently moved to Atlanta from Boston because their husbands started new jobs.  Many of the women have kids, and it is so fun to see their little ones interact with each other.  It is a great group!  We meet almost every week and do different things.  Thank you, Sarah!

Here is a picture of the pumpkin cheesecake that I mentioned earlier.  One of the women made it from a recipe she found in a Cheesecake Factory cookbook (I am not sure which one).  The recipe will be posted soon!  The dark chocolate shavings on the top were the perfect addition to an already decadent dessert.

pie

Sarah was kind enough to let me take a picture before taking her first bite…

sarah and pie

Everything I did today was within minutes of each other and off of the same road (Roswell Road).  My hair appointment was at 2:00 which was literally 30 seconds from where we had lunch.  I went to Olivia Todd Salon & Spa because my good friend recommended it, and I love her hair!  We have similar hair in that we have a lot of it!

Here I am after my new haircut about to go to the spice shop.  Normally, I wear my hair in a low bun sort of thing.  It is easy and very low maintenance.  It is always fun to have a day where my hair is perfectly straight and done by someone else.  Tyler does not recognize me after I get my hair cut Smile.  By the way, it will not look like this until I get my hair cut again.

me

My family is obsessed with Penzeys Spices.  My mom, mother-in-law, and sister have all raved about it to me.  I guess they have 65 stores nationwide.  The one in Atlanta opened only four months ago.

I was minutes away, so decided it was time to take a little field trip.  Besides, I was in need of some more cinnamon (favorite spice of all time). 

                            penzey's  cinnamon

How cute is that cinnamon kitchen?  Needless to say, I was successful in this department.  I bought some Vietnamese Cinnamon which I can’t wait to use on my oatmeal in the morning.  It is nice because you can smell all of the spices before deciding to purchase something.  I felt like I had eaten a red hot after smelling the jars of cinnamon.  Now that I am cooking more, I thought it would be nice to have some Herbs de Provence, so I bought a small jar.  My spice collection is growing.  Yay!

What a busy day!  I am tired but feel good about everything that I accomplished by 5:00.  So many new things!  Now it is time to start thinking about dinner and unwind.

Enjoy your night!

What is your all time favorite spice?

7 responses »

    • WOW, I love this oatmeal! I even had a empty peanut butter jar, perfect! The idea of being able to fix it the night before is good for me, sometimes I am in a rush to be somewhere in the morning. I will give it a 10!
      The new hair cut is very cute too!
      Thank you for sharing so many new things, including the Penzey Spice store. New to you and Atlanta!

      • This could be the perfect breakfast for you! I know you get busy, but you must take time for the most important meal of the day :). The hair cut is fun. The cinnamon was so good this morning on my oatmeal. Have a great weekend!

  1. overnight oats in a nut butter jar = pure genius! i will be trying this weekend (after I encourage Seth to finish the butter tonight;) xo

  2. Now I see where to post my comments! I will get this!! I love all of your enthusiatic ideas. I am looking forward to this week-end together so some of that creativity can rub off on me!

Leave a Reply

