We Are Home!

Standard

We had a great time in Chicago, but it is nice to be home!   We landed around noon yesterday which means we still had a good chunk of the day to get organized for the week.

While we were in Chicago we ate a lot, rested a lot, walked a lot, and saw a lot.  Speaking of eating a lot, here is my plate from Thanksgiving.  I love my green beans. 

turkey dinner

Earlier in the day, we had my mom’s famous Sour Cream Coffee Cake.  We usually have it on Christmas morning, but since we were all together for Thanksgiving my mom thought it would be nice to have it early.  This is one of Tyler’s favorites!  The coffee cake paired with some eggs and citrus fruit was perfect for tiding us over until dinner which we ate around 3:00.  The turkey ended up cooking much faster than we had expected.  It seems like this always happens!  Luckily, we had everything else ready to go!

coffee cake

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

from Marty Harsch (Stephanie’s mom)

coffe cake recipe

On Friday, we went downtown to see the lights.  Michigan Avenue was hustling and bustling with shoppers.  We ended up going out to the lake to walk for a bit.  Surprisingly, it was not too cold by the water which was nice.

chicago

On Saturday, Tyler and I went downtown again to spend time with my dad and stepmon.  Since my dad was our photographer for our wedding, we worked on our wedding album while we were with him.  We made it using Blurb.  It was really fun to look at the pictures again.   The book should arrive soon!  Come to think of it, today is our six month anniversary!  

Both Tyler and I were antsy on the plane ride home.  We both love to get home and get organized.  We had many things that we wanted to accomplish on our “To Do” list!  One of the things on my list was to go to yoga.  Ahhh!  My body was craving it.  I tried a new yoga studio called FORM in Decatur.  It is a neat studio.  The building used to be an old candle factory which was then converted into a design loft space.  So cool!  They have a great deal going on right now for new students.  30 days for $30 of unlimited yoga.  Sign me up! 

form sign

form inside                              form outside

I felt so good after class.  I could not wait to come home and share my calm energy with Tyler.  He loves when I feel centered Smile.  My face lit up when I walked in the door.  Tyler put up the tree!  We decorated it together of course.

christmas tree

The holidays are here!   Try some new recipes or yoga class this week! 

It is rainy and cold here, so I thought I would make some soup today.  There is a lentil soup recipe that I have been wanting to try for a while.  I will let you know how it goes.  I am most excited about eating it with my stepmom’s homemade honey oat wheat bread that she sent home with us.   

What is the first thing you like to do when you get home from a trip?

Have you tried a new yoga class or studio recently?

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blue Skies in December « Newly Everything

Leave a Reply

