Feeling Warm and Cozy

Standard

I actually pulled out my big North Face jacket today.  Brrr!  Its official…I am a southerner.  The temperature is supposed to get back up into the 60s this weekend.  Hooray!

There is nothing better than feeling warm and cozy on a cold winter’s day (I miss our fireplace).  I like to put on my wool socks, comfy pants, and fleece lined hoodie from J. Crew.  Another way that I like to get warm and cozy (besides drinking a mug of peppermint hot chocolate) is to have a big bowl of piping hot soup with fresh bread.  Heaven…

I mentioned in my last post that I was going to try a new lentil soup recipe from the Moosewood Cookbook.  My mom actually gave me her cookbook since I have a new love for cooking.  Thanks Mom!

Luckily, I had all of the ingredients on hand.  Lentils are so good for you, so I was excited to find a recipe that looked easy and healthy.  There were a few steps that I had to follow in order to make the soup.

First, I had to cook the lentils for about 45 minutes.

lentils

After the lentils were done, I added all of the veggies and herbs.  I let the soup simmer for at least 20 minutes.  Then I tasted it and let it simmer for 15 more minutes before serving with a splash of red wine vinegar.

soup and bread

Moosewood Lentil Soup

adapted from the Moosewood Cookbook

Ingredients:

3 cups lentils, any type
7 cups water or stock (more as needed)
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup minced celery
1 cup chopped carrots
1 Tbl. minced garlic
1 to 2 tsp. salt
black pepper to taste
a few pinches of dried herbs (thyme, oregano, or basil)
2 medium-sized ripe tomatoes, chopped
Red wine vinegar for the top

Directions:

Place the lentils and water in a soup pot or Dutch oven. Bring
to a boil, lower heat to a simmer, and let cook until the
lentils are mushy (about 45 minutes). Add more water as
needed, until the soup is your favorite consistency.

Add the onion, celery, carrots, and chopped tomatoes.  Add the garlic, 1 tsp. salt, pepper, and
herbs of your choice, and simmer for 20 minutes.

Taste to correct seasonings, then simmer for
at least 15 minutes longer. Serve hot, with a little vinegar
drizzled onto each serving.

Next up…

This weather sure does make me want to bake!

I am always looking for protein bar recipes to help fuel my morning workouts.  I found a simple and easy granola bar recipe on Oxygen Magazine’s website.  I did not have the chocolate-covered espresso beans on hand, so I used dark chocolate chips instead.  I also used chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla.  Bring on the chocolate!

oatmeal bars

Snack on these before your next cardio session!

Dark Chocolate Espresso Granola Bars

(from Oxygen Magazine reader Devon Timberlake)

Ready in 40 minutes • Makes 8 servings

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole-grain flour
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp raw honey
  • 2 oz dark chocolate-covered espresso beans (70% or higher cocoa content)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla or almond extract
Instructions:
  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. Place all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Mix with a wooden spoon to combine.
  3. Spread mixture evenly in a 9″x9″ baking dish. Bake for 25–30 minutes or until golden around the edges. Let cool and slice into eight bars. Serve or refrigerate for later. 

Up next on my recipe list…super-easy homemade applesauce!

 How do you like to get warm and cozy on a cold day?

Would you rather make your protein bars or buy them?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up « Newly Everything

Leave a Reply

