Blue Skies in December

Standard

I woke up feeling very happy today.  The sun was shining on the second day of December!  Did I mention that I love Atlanta especially in the winter?

blue sky

After I woke up with a smile on my face, I tried a new blueberry muffin recipe from Cassey Ho at Blogilates.  It was the perfect pre-workout snack before Bodypump, and it only took one minute to cook.  I was ready to work hard (and I did)!

blueberry muffin

I paired my muffin with steamed milk (new winter obsession) for some added protein and a sprinkle of cinnamon. 

Berrylicious Microwave Minute Muffin

adapted from Cassey Ho at Blogilates

  • Take a little less than a quarter cup of oats, 1 egg, a small handful of blueberries, and some brown sugar if you like things sweet, and mix it all up in a coffee mug. If you want your muffin a little moist a tablespoon of plain soymilk or almond milk will do it.  I added some almond milk.  I also added a spoonful of bee pollen Smile.
  • Then place in the microwave for 1 min. Watch it carefully!  This could overflow!
  • If the muffin top does not look firm, place back in 30 sec at a time.
  • Once ready, flip mug upside down onto a plate.
  • Super yummy!

After Bodypump, I was craving chocolate protein!  I could not get the blender out fast enough to make my smoothie in a bowl.  It is new to me to eat my smoothie out of a bowl (thank you Peanut Butter Fingers), but it is makes for a much more enjoyable experience especially since I LOVE  ice cream.

smoothie

Double Chocolate Banana Smoothie

  • 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon of raw cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • half a banana
  • ice
  • topped with 2 spoonfuls of Uncle Sam cereal

As I said earlier, Bodypump was tough.  I am trying to push myself and use just a little more weight (2.5 pounds) for each body part in order to work to fatigue.  My goal is to create some definition in my arms and legs.  To me, it is all about being FIT and feeling your best.  Julie at Appetite for Health just published a great article called Strong is the New Skinny.  Finally!  It takes hard work to get strong, but you can do it if you want it!  You can’t change your body unless you are a little uncomfortable at times during your workout.  I was reminded of this at RPM yesterday when the instructor was talking about the importance of endurance training.  Remember, balance is key.  Cardio, strength, and flexibility.  Make it a point to get all of this into your routine especially during the holidays.  Don’t wait until January 1st.  Start today.  Put yourself first!   

Speaking of the holidays, when we moved to Atlanta we had to leave a lot of decorations at Tyler’s mom’s house because we went from a house to an apartment.  We did manage to bring our small tree and a few other things that we added to our special wedding spot in the apartment…

stockings

I wonder if Santa will find our stockings??? 

Sarah and I are off to an Anusara-Inspired yoga class at FORM (yoga).  Then, we are going to try a new lunch place in Decatur followed by shopping for craft supplies.  Tyler’s family started a tradition where instead of buying a gift for everyone in the family they are responsible for making one person a crafty Christmas gift.  I…am…not…crafty.  I tried the baking angle, but Tyler told me that I have to either make or build something.  This is a daunting task for someone like me.  Luckily, Sarah had a brilliant idea (of course Smile).  Here goes nothing…

Happy Friday!  Remember to try something new this weekend!

If you exchange gifts in your family, do you buy (or make something) for everyone or choose one name out of a hat?

 

Leave a Reply

