Weekend Wrap-Up

Standard

Happy Monday!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  Ours was, of course, very busy, but we did manage to have some fun.

Tyler and I decided to push our date night to Saturday night because we were both tired from the week.  Saturday went by too fast (I worked on some more crafts), but we were both still committed to going out for dinner.  We have been talking about venturing out of Virginia Highlands for a while, so I decided to make it my mission to find a fun place for our date.  I went to Scoutmob and looked through the Atlanta deals.  I stumbled upon Urban Pl8.  I am so glad that the “8” caught my eye because it was an “urban” experience not to be forgotten.

tyler at urban pl8

Urban Pl8 has an urban feel and unique menu.   Betsy Pitts is the owner and chef.  All of the dishes are prepared in a healthy way using seasonal, local, and fresh ingredients which means the menu changes often.  Best of all, it is affordable!  Most of the dishes are gluten-free and follow the Paleo diet (also known as the caveman diet).  Many people who do CrossFit like to follow the Paleo diet to achieve great health and physique.  In fact, there was a large CrossFit group at the restaurant on Saturday night.  I would say that I eat a Paleo diet most of the time since I focus on whole foods including vegetables, fruit, nuts, eggs, and lean meats.  I do, however, love my oatmeal and brown rice more than once or twice a day.  You have to find what works for you which is exactly what Julie from Appetite for Health said in a recent article called Should I Follow a Paleo-ish Diet?  The timing was right on because I read the article on Saturday morning.  It was meant to be.

To start, we ordered the shrimp, coconut milk, and kale dish to share.  We paired it with a glass of vino (of course). 

coconut shrimp

So yummy!

After the first course, we knew we could not go wrong with our meal.  Tyler ordered the hanger steak with a sweet potato and white asparagus.  I ordered lily’s nut burger.  It is, hands down, the best “burger” I have ever devoured.  It had walnuts, cashews, brown rice, and aged cheddar served on a whole wheat muffin with a side salad.  The salad had golden raisins and sunflower seeds for an added crunch.  Both of our meals were memorable.  We can’t wait to go back and use the Scoutmob deal on Tyler’s phone!

urban pl8 dinner

Sunday was another busy day.  I went to yoga at Adrenaline because I am going to start teaching Adrenaline Fire Hot Yoga.  Watch out!  I am going to teach it three times a week.  My skin should be glowing after that much hot yoga given all of the toxins that I am going to release.  I am very excited about this opportunity. 

I came home and made more dark chocolate espresso granola bars because Tyler and I both love them as a snack with peanut butter.  I especially love to eat them before RPM.  Instead of using dark chocolate, I used these babies instead!  Mint and dark chocolate make my taste buds sing. 

espresso beans

We are hooked!

After the bars were done, we made a Costco run.  It been about 6 weeks, so we were really running low on some of our staples like salmon and chicken.  We do have to limit ourselves now that we live in an apartment because we have very little storage space which is not a bad thing.  I could not resist buying some of these…

clementine's

Clementine season is here!

We also went to Home Depot to get a few things including a wreath!  This is the first wreath we have ever bought together.  There certainly are a lot of “firsts” this year as newlyweds.  Tyler hung the wreath within seconds of getting home.  We were both excited to see what it would look like on our new door.

wreath

Merry Merry!

I need to get busy downloading more yoga music for my classes this week.  I am new to iTunes.  I know…I need to get with the times!

Have a great day!

Do you follow a Paleo-ish diet?  If so, what are some of your favorite recipes?

5 responses »

  1. i love paleo, but i too would not be able to live without my oatmeal! those espresso beans (and bars) look amazing. i am going to have to try them. i bought an artisan dark chocolate bar with mint tonight at world market to satisfy my craving for peppermint ice-cream – looks like you got the best of both worlds. i love urban pl8 – so glad you found it! xo

  2. Pingback: TGIF « Newly Everything

  3. Pingback: It’s Friday! « Newly Everything

Leave a Reply

