Holiday Inspirations {12.6.11}

Standard

Perhaps the only downside to baking homemade bread is that it has a limited shelf life. Makes you wonder just how many additives are included in the store bought variety…Today’s breakfast was inspired by the holiday season and is an effort to make delicious use of every last slice. The result..

IMAG0448

stuffed french toast with caramelized bananas topped with greek yogurt and honey. My dad makes a killer french toast and it is the staple of our Christmas morning spread. In a few weeks, when I have 6:30am rounds  start my new job, I know I’ll be dreaming about a breakfast like this.

The Recipe Reel

Give yourself and your kitchen a much needed break during the holiday season by letting your crockpot take the lead. This easy (and economical) meal is ideal for busy weekdays or full weekends.

Slow Cooker Tuscan Bean Soup

IMAG0444

{source: Betty Crocker Just the Two of Us}

yields about 4 servings…perfect for a husband that will have 2 servings at dinner and a wife who wants a quick and easy lunch the next day.

ingredients:

  • 1lb red potatoes, cut into quarters
  • 3 medium carrots, sliced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 can (15 or 16 oz) great northern beans, drained, rinsed
  • 1 can (14oz) chicken broth
  • 1 broth can (14oz) water
  • 1/2 cup diced cooked ham
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 2tablespoons fresh chopped parsley (I omitted because I did not have on hand)

directions

  • mix all ingredients expect parley and oil into slow cooker
  • Cover, cook on low heat for 8-10 hours
  • Finish your holiday shopping, visit with friends, watch a movie, try a new workout class with all of the free time you will have NOT COOKING
  • Stir in parsley and EVOO, enjoy!

Craft Corner

My friend Kathleen recently shared this site with me and I am in LOVE. It is an online marketplace for crafters and artists. I have founds some great pieces and interesting items that will add some flair to holiday giving. Check out my friend Amy’s boutique if you have any kiddos or new moms on your Christmas list.

etsy

Style & Such

I made the mistake of walking through this store at the mall yesterday. A girl can dream, sigh!

Kate spade

Recent Reads

A few weeks ago, my mom sent me a care package of holiday items that would bring bits of my childhood to our new home, including this book…

IMAG0447

My mom and I would read this regularly. It is a great story about friendship, hope and Christmas wishes. I may be reading it again this week. Never too old for some Christmas magic.

House & Home

Need to add some holiday flare on the cheap? Arranging some cinnamon scented pinecones, a few sprigs of faux holly and a lovely bowl not only looks nice but smells great! Thanks for the tip mom!

IMAG0449

After dealing with some computer issues this morning (hence, the late post) I am off to stretch my legs with a long walk (most likely on the treadmill given the threat of rain) and an evening yoga class.

Enjoy the day and stay inspired!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

