I heard a thump at the door…

Standard

Have you noticed a “giveaway” trend on Facebook or other social media sites?  I am not complaining, but it seems like giveaways are everywhere during this holiday season (again, not complaining).

I heard a thump at the door yesterday around 3:00pm.  Like a little kid, I rushed to the door to see what had been delivered.  There was a package sitting under our door mat.  When I saw that it was for me, I grew even more excited.  After seeing the information from the sender, I knew it was the giveaway that I had won about a month ago after commenting on a post from the ladies at Appetite for Health.  The post was about a new product from CLICK called CLICK Espresso Protein Drink.  I was intrigued by the coffee component of the protein powder since it is packed with antioxidants.  Long story short, I was shocked to find out that I was one of the winners!  Things like this don’t happen to me except for the time when I was on Oprah’s Favorite Things show.

click

Inside the package, I found not one but two tubs of protein powder plus a shaker.  The flavors that I get to try are Vanilla Latte and Mocha…mmm.  Delicious!  I will probably only use the powder once or twice a week given that I am cutting back on caffeine, but I welcome the change from my regular chocolate whey that I drink after my workouts.  Hooray for giveaways!  Thank you ladies!

Breakfast

The word breakfast means breaking the fast that your body has gone through all night while you are sleeping.  It is so so so important that you break the fast within an hour of rising.  For me, a breakfast consisting of complex carbs (oatmeal), protein (eggs or greek yogurt), some healthy fat (chia seed and/or a nut butter), and veggies or fruit is vital to the energy that I have throughout the day.  I am also more likely to make healthy choices throughout the day.

Today is day 2 of teaching hot yoga (Monday night went really well), so I made overnight oats last night because I wanted one less thing to worry about in the morning before heading out the door.  The oats make for a hearty breakfast especially with the added nutrition and flavor of chia seed, bee pollen, wheat germ, blueberries, and a spoonful of peanut butter Smile.  I am ready to rock this class!

overnight oats

 A Day of Cooking

When I get back from class, the cooking marathon begins!  I am having the girls over for lunch tomorrow.  Now, entertaining is new to me, so I am a little nervous but it is time to put on my big girl shoes and just do it!  I must confess that I started setting stuff out two days ahead just like mom does when she is going to have people over.  The apple does not fall far from the tree! 

bowls

The menu will consist of Tosca Reno’s White Bean Chili (recipe to come) from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook

              tosca's book              cookbook

Trader Joe’s Cornbread…

cornbread mix

And for dessert…well it is a surprise!  Sarah offered to bring something.  Phew!  Thank you!

I am taking a risk by trying a new to me recipe, but chili is always a winner.   I contemplated making my own cornbread, but I have not perfected my recipe yet.  I am crossing my fingers that everything turns out well.

It is time for me to get my yoga on and then hurry home, shower, and get cookin’ on this rainy day! 

What is your “go-to” meal when entertaining?

Have you won a giveaway recently?

One response »

  1. I must leave my house…the smell of the dessert I made tomorrow is so enticing you may just receive a cake with a slice taken out…for quality control purposes of course

Leave a Reply

