Holiday Fun

Standard

coke 6

Can you guess where we went for my husband’s holiday party?

You guessed it!  We went to the World of Coca-Cola which is one of Atlanta’s top attractions, and I can see why.  It is fun for children and adults alike.  Their newest exhibit is called Coca-Cola at Christmas which is what we saw before heading in to the party.  I had never been to the World of Coca-Cola, so everything was new to me.  Ho Ho Ho!

coke 1

My mouth dropped when we walked into the main room where the Vault of the Secret Formula resides…shhhh.  It was beautiful.  Everyone was ready to have some holiday fun!

coke 3

For dinner, we could choose from a variety of beautiful dishes.  My favorite was the sushi.  Yummy in my tummy!  I also tried some scallops and spinach salad with roasted corn.  I was really hungry after a long day of yoga and sushi hit the spot.  I actually had a few more pieces when we went upstairs because there were two more stations of food (all of the stations had the same food).  After I had my last few bites, we went into The Taste It! room.  If you have ever been to the World of Coca-Cola, you know about this room.  There are coke products to taste from around the world.   Out of all of the coke dispensers, Tab was my favorite because it brought me back to my childhood.  My mom used to drink Tab all the time! 

coke 4

The turnout was good which added to the holiday fun.  I especially enjoyed meeting Tyler’s coworkers.  He really respects them.  One thing I did notice was the fashion.  Wow!  I am out of it.  Short dresses, lots of sequence, and high high heels.  People really went all out.  Many of the men wore tuxes.  Fancy! 

I borrowed a red dress from my best friend for the occasion.  Thank you, Jessica!

hol party 1

I had to get up early on Sunday for yoga training, so we left around 10:30pm.  I was pretty proud of myself that I lasted that long.  

coke 5

Check out the red and white trees in the background!  So festive and so Coca-Cola!

On my way to yoga on Sunday morning, I caught part of a health segment on The Secrets of Never Getting Sick by Dr. Joe Esposito.  Dr. Joe lectures about wellness and peak performance.  He also practices here in Atlanta, and has a show every Sunday morning at 7am on 98.5 called Health Talk Atlanta.  I was not able to hear the whole segment, but I did hear the important points.  I think these are valuable tips particularly during the winter months.

The Secrets to Never Getting Sick

1.  Healthy Nervous System

2.  Healthy Digestive System

3.  Proper and Balanced Nutrition

4.  Add Herbs to Your Diet (to stimulate nervous system)

5.  Keep Moving (to increase circulation)

One tip Dr. Joe gave was to not cook garlic but chop it up and sprinkle it on salads and things.  I experimented with this last night with my broccoli.  Straight garlic is intense and I still tasted it in the morning, but I am willing to give it a try to improve my health all the way around.  He did suggest eating garlic with parsley to cut down on the garlic taste the lingers after eating it.  One other recommendation from Dr. Joe is to drink a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar before each meal to aid in digestion.  I have actually done this off and on over the years.  Now, it can be hard to stomach vinegar first thing in the morning, but I add some hot water (my mom adds a little honey) which makes it not so bad.    According to Dr. Joe, health and disease are both self-induced.  Make a few small and simple changes each week to keep your immune system strong and healthy.   You do not have to spend a ton of money.  An apple and almonds are pretty darn cheap!

Bottom line, take care of yourself!  Also, educate yourself about health.  Now is a great time to reassess the choices you make on a daily basis.  It is no secret that Tosca Reno’s philosophy of eating clean, exercising, and sleeping 7-8 hours each night resonate with me.  Christina at The Athletarian is having a major giveaway of Tosca’s books!  I had to share with you all!

I am going to catch up on a few things today because I was busy all weekend.  I am very excited to teach some FIRE hot yoga tonight!  Happy Monday!

What are you doing for some holiday fun this year?

What are your secrets to never getting sick?

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Reply #2: I do remember you drinking the apple cider vinegar in the mornings. Now, I take liquid silver when I feel like I’m getting the slightest bit sick. Just took a cap full tonight! My mother-n-law says you have to get really good, I don’t know what bad silver does…, liquid silver but swears by it. We also put a cap full in our son’s humidifier.

  2. I love the world of coke all dressed up for christmas! so pretty. thank you for the staying well tips…i am always looking for some new things to try. my secrets for staying well are eating bee pollen, taking my D3 and B12 supplements and eating plenty of cultured foods like yogurt, kefir and kombucha:) Also, lots of water, exercise and hand washing. I have been trying to eat more raw garlic and actually read an article about eating parsley every day – supposed to reduce the chances of breast cancer!

    • What kind of Kefir do you buy? I love kombucha, but I wish it was not so expensive! Parsley is next on my list to add to my diet!

Leave a Reply

