Superwoman

Standard

I felt a little like superwoman yesterday, and I don’t even have kids!  Good thing I had a hearty breakfast including a shot of apple cider vinegar and overnight oats with a banana and peanut butter.

My day started out with some Bodypump followed by a meeting with my boss at Adrenaline.  On Thursday, I am going to start with a new client (hooray), and she needs to lose a considerable amount of weight which is new to me as a trainer.  I am very excited to help her meet her goals and feel good!

After our meeting, I went to Nordstrom where I purchased my first pair of skinny jeans!  I know, I can’t believe it either.  This is yet another thing (like iTunes) where it is time for me to get with the times. If you know me, you know that I like fashion but don’t always purchase every new thing of the season (even though I might want it).  I like to have a few nice things.  Again, the apple does not fall far from the tree.    Speaking of that tree, my mom and stepdad sent me Christmas money specifically for skinny jeans, so I was on a mission.  I went to my fashion and craft consultant also known as Sarah.  She recommended Paige jeans because they have a flattering waste and keep their shape. 

I knew I could not find the right pair of jeans on my own, so I immediately asked the sales associate for help.  With a little bit of guidance, I found the perfect pair of jeans for me!  I can’t wait to wear with my tall boots and cute flats given to me by our realtor in Kansas City.  They have some bling on them which is totally not me but totally fun!  The jeans needed to be hemmed at the bottom, but they will be ready for the holidays when Tyler’s family is in town. 

Tip:  The sales associate gave me a great tip for washing new denim jeans.  Turn your jeans inside out, wash them separately, pour in detergent and a cup of WHITE VINEGAR (to hold the color), and then throw them in the dryer for ten minutes.  You can line dry them the rest of the way.  Voila!

jeans

In case you are wondering, those are not my legs and definitely not my shoes. 

It did not take too long at Nordstrom, so I was able to get to Home Depot and CVS before lunch.  I was starving when I got home.  I had a Muscle Milk right after Bodypump, but I needed to eat some real food!  I don’t usually have a Muscle Milk, but my boss offered me one so that I could run my errands and not have to go home.  It hit the spot. 

Lunch

I have a new favorite lunch that I must share with all of you.  If you ask my husband, he would say that I love to make fritattas for lunch which is true.  A few days ago, I decided to scramble my eggs and veggies and serve it on top of Trader Joe’s Organic Brown Rice.  If you have not had this rice, look for it in the frozen section.  All you have to do is put a bag in the microwave for three minutes, wait a few minutes, and serve! 

Below you will find 4 of my favorite ingredients.  I used the coconut oil to cook the veggies.  I sprinkled Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute (salt free) on top of my eggs.  Next, I topped the rice with some Trader Joe’s Chili Pepper Sauce.  Last, I poured Trader Joe’s Salsa Autentica on top of my eggs.  I think I am little obsessed with Trader Joe’s Smile. 

condiments           

Bon Appetit to me even though it was already 2pm!

eggs and rice

Veggie Egg Scramble Over Brown Rice

by Stephanie

Ingredients:

  • coconut oil
  • red onion
  • yellow pepper
  • red pepper
  • handful of spinach
  • 2 eggs (1 egg + 1 egg  white)
  • chopped garlic clove
  • Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute
  • Trader Joe’s Chili Pepper Sauce
  • Trader Joe’s Salsa Autentica
  • Trader Joe’s Organic Brown Rice

Note:  Obviously, you can use any kind of seasoning, hot sauce, salsa, and brown rice.

Directions:

1.  Heat coconut oil in a skillet.  Add red onion, yellow pepper, red pepper, and spinach.  Cook veggies for about 5 minutes (give or take). 

2.  Add scrambled egg mixture.  I like to add a touch of water.  Season with Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute. 

3.  Prepare a bowl of brown rice and hot sauce of your choice.

4.  Put veggie scramble on top of rice.

5.  Top with chopped raw garlic and salsa.

6.  Enjoy!

Tuesday Evening

One of the girls in our group had the ATL girls over to celebrate Christmas.  I picked Sarah up and off we went for some more holiday fun!  We decorated cookies, ate a delicious dinner, and exchanged gifts.  The catch was that we had to wrap something that we already owned and were not using anymore.  The point was that we were not to spend any money.  Everyone has something floating around that is still nice but not being used.  I thought it was a clever idea!  I wrapped up 3 yoga DVDs that I had not used for years now that I do my own thing at home.

present

Here are a few pictures of the beautiful cookie display!  I decorated a Christmas tree for Tyler adorned with sprinkles and M&M’s.

           cookies 2             cookies

I crashed when I got home from the party, but it was nice to be with the girls.  Today is going to be another busy day.  I am teaching yoga this morning and again tonight. In between, my goal is to try out a new to me gingersnap recipe from my stepmom.  I want to bring them to the cookie exchange on Saturday that my friend his hosting which Sarah mentioned yesterday in her post about all things cookies!

Lots to do during this busy holiday season!  Happy Wednesday!

What is your favorite brand when it comes to jeans?

Do you feel like superwoman or superman these days?

2 responses »

  1. I bought my first pair of paige denim last year on my birthday and fell in love!! i love the colors and the forgiving fit. i actually just purchased two new pairs at nordstrom rack about a week ago. i am delighted to know the vinegar washing trick because my pair from last year has faded and broken down their shape a significant amount. i also have been eating scrambled egg whites over some spinach and mushroom sauté with rice or beans. it’s satisfying, easy and cheap dinner. i feel like a super-woman this year because i bought my own place by myself, got a new job, started mentoring teacher training (a dream for years) and have a new kitty cat – very busy but very rewarding. congrats on all of your classes…i am going to have to come check you out over the holidays!! xo

    • I am glad you like Paige jeans as much as Sarah! I can’t wait to try the vinegar trick. You have had a lot going on this year, but they are all happy things. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

