Gadgets and Gizmos of Plenty

Standard

This week has flown by!  

I ran into Starbucks yesterday for a decaf coffee with a splash of soy and realized that The Cook’s Warehouse was down the way.   I had some time before I needed to get home and make cookies.  My mother-in-law told me about The Cook’s Warehouse.  Given my newfound interest in cooking and baking, I decided to take a look. 

Oh my goodness!  What a fabulous store!  They have gadgets and gizmos of plenty (The Little Mermaid was my favorite Disney movie when I was a kid).  I was in awe.

cook's 3

Now that I have incorporated more garlic into my diet, I am need of a garlic press or something like it because, as I am sure you know, it is so tedious to chop a small clove of garlic.  I asked the sales associate to point me in the direction of a garlic press.  He laughed (in a nice way) because, who am I kidding, they have more than one to choose from which is not good for someone like me.   I like to go in, get what I need and be done. 

cook's 1

He showed me the ones above and then mentioned a garlic twist at the front which is a no mess, no fuss, garlic gadget.  In my head, I thought ring me up!  I took a look at the garlic twist and loved it, but it was a little pricey.  I could not bring myself to spend almost $20 on a little plastic twisty thing.  Sorry, I did not get a picture and it is not listed on their website, but it is pretty neat. 

I did purchase a little something.  I bought a pan scraper that supposedly does not leave scratches on All-Clad.  Tyler thought it was a brilliant purchase especially since he usually does the dishes.  Another reason why I am lucky Smile.

scraper

This will definitely help with clean-up!

A little later…

Next up on my to-do list…gingersnaps!  I used many of the gadgets and gizmos in my kitchen for these babies.  In fact, I used our Kitchen-Aid for the first time!  The mixer was given to me by my grandma and grandpa years and years ago for me and my imaginary husband.  They were on sale, so they bought one for all of their grandkids.  It sat in my sister’s attic for years, but it got the job done.  I am thinking that I might bring it to a hardware store for a little facelift. 

I have to admit that I was a little nervous to make these cookies in particular because my stepmom’s are amazing.  I had to rip off the Band-Aid yet again and tell myself that I could do it! 

ginger ingredients

So I did!

After I mixed the dry ingredients in my mixing bowl, I beat the wet ingredients together in the Kitchen-Aid.  Once I incorporated all of the dry ingredients, it only took a few spins to integrate it all.  My stepmom cautioned me not to over mix the batter.  I rolled the batter into one inch balls, and then rolled them in granulated sugar (important step).

Into the oven they go…

gingersnaps 1

10 minutes later…

gingersnaps

The cracked tops are the best!

So here is the deal…I had been emailing my stepmom for weeks asking questions about the recipe.  She scanned and sent her original recipe (the recipe is from an old family friend), so it was a little hard to read.  There was a note to the side that said 2 tsp, so I asked my stepmom about it.  Instead of 1 tsp of ginger,  I was to add 2 tsp.  Guess what???  After all of that, I FORGOT to add the second tsp.  Grrr!!!  Therefore, the cookies are not as “gingery” as normal, but they still taste good.  Tyler loves them!  He was having a glass of milk when I walked in the door last night to wash down the two cookies he had just eaten as an appetizer.  If I can get his stamp of approval, then I think I am safe to bring them to the cookie exchange on Saturday.  Phew! 

Gingersnaps

from a family friend of Stephanie’s stepmom

Ingredients:

· 2 ¼ C flour

· 2 tsp baking soda

· 2 tsp ground ginger

· 1 tsp cinnamon

· ½ tsp ground cloves

· ¼ tsp salt

· 1 C brown sugar

· ¾ C butter or shortening

· ¼ C molasses

· 1 egg

Directions:

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Stir together first 7 ingredients.  Combine remaining ingredients and beat well. Add dry ingredients to beaten mixture, beating well. Form 1” balls.  Roll balls in granulated sugar, if desired. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Enjoy with a glass of cold milk!

I have to share the gift we received yesterday from my good friend and her husband who live in Kansas City.  Joannie and I taught first grade together for two years, and I miss her every day!  Thank you, Joannie and Rodger!

pillow

  In case you are wondering, the pillow is from RedEnvelope!

Today

I am going to RPM this morning, meeting Sarah for noon yoga at FORM (yoga), and then possibly making more cookies.

I am looking forward to spending some quality time with my husband and friends to celebrate the holidays this weekend. The cookie exchange is on Saturday, and Sarah and Danny have invited us over for dinner on Saturday night. Can’t wait!

Have a joyous weekend!

What is your favorite kitchen gadget?

Are you going to or hosting a cookie exchange this year?

5 responses »

  1. love this – and love to find new kitchen gadgets. i thought of you this morning when i had my hot multi-grain cereal with a tablespoon of nut butter, a couple dark chocolate chips and sliced banana. oh dear, i think i have an oatmeal related obsession. PS – have you ever heard of Trader Joe’s “cookie butter” – if so, what do you think and it sounds like i might have to have it! xo

    • I definitely have an oatmeal related obsession. It looks like you bought the cookie butter. Let me know what you think! Have a great weekend!

  2. The cookie recipe and cookie picture look great. Steve will be happy to have something besides chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies for Christmas! He loves variety! Is there an easy way to just copy the recipe?

  3. Pingback: Magazine: Gadgets & Gizmos - February 2012 | Techrevel.com

Leave a Reply

