One Satisfied Sweet Tooth

Standard

I hope you had a nice weekend.  We had a great weekend full of holiday cheer, shopping, and new cookie recipes.  My sweet tooth is happy but needs a rest until Christmas.

Speaking of my sweet tooth, the cookie exchange was so much fun!  Check out what I saw on my way to the party!

atlanta white house

The Atlanta White House

I immediately called Tyler to ask if he had ever driven past the house.    He saw it a while back with his cousin who used to live here.  I thought it was pretty neat!

Back to the cookie exchange…I am inspired to host one next year.  Angie did a great job!  Each of us (15 women) brought a tray of cookies to share along with copies of our recipe.  Three of us made some sort of ginger cookie, and everyone else made something different.   We had quite the assortment.

Check out the spread…

cookie table

Before we started decorating sugar cookies, we all went around and introduced ourselves.  We also told everyone how we knew Angie.   Half the women knew her through their husbands because they are in medical school together, and the other half knew her through fitness like CrossFit and yoga.  In fact, I met her on a yoga hike.  She is such a sweet person. 

Onto the decorating…

Angie made frosting for the first time, and it was delicious!  She also bought an array of sprinkles.  I felt a like a kid again Smile.

cookie makings

The important thing is that I had fun decorating my cookies, but I do have a long way to go in the decorating department with regards to creativity.  Tyler’s sister is an excellent baker, and I think it is time that I ask for a lesson.  She actually made the cupcakes for our wedding (check out my picture on our About page)!

sugar cookies

The best part about the cookie exchange is that I met some neat women.  Even though I am new to Atlanta, I feel like I have been here forever because of the wonderful people that have come into my life in just 4 short months.  The second best part about the cookie exchange was the container of cookies that I got to fill to the brim and take home.  We all commented on how happy our husbands were that we were coming to a cookie exchange because they knew what they meant for them…lots of festive COOKIES to try!

cookie tray

I had about an hour and a half to rest before heading over to Sarah and Danny’s for dinner.  We are trying to get through all of the Harry Potter movies right now, so we watched part of one of the movies beforehand.

I have been raving about Sarah and Danny’s place in Midtown, so I was excited for Tyler to finally see it.  He agreed that it is a beautiful place.  Sarah has done an excellent job of making it homey and has given it a personal touch that is inspirational to me.   The wine glasses we are holding have scenes from Chicago.  Two Chicago girls need two Chicago inspired wine glasses!

Steph and Sarah

Dinner was superb!  We started out with drinks and appetizers followed by a spinach and pesto salad with pine nuts, a white bean and chicken sausage cassoulette, and homemade bread.  Heaven!  Even though our bellies were full, none of us could turn down dessert.   She served No Pudge! new to me Brownies, Edy’s Slow Churned Mint Cookie Crunch, and homemade peppermint bark.  A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!  The brownies are fat free and all natural (no Splenda).  Sarah made them with fat free vanilla yogurt.  Genius!

sludge brownies

Does the placemat look familiar?

Thank you for a lovely evening, Sarah and Danny!  We will miss you these next few weeks but look forward to our brunch date on the first to ring in the new year.

Sarah gave me an early Christmas/birthday gift.  A tea cup with an S on it!  Inside was some Yogi Chai Rooibos tea (decaf, of course).

tea cup 

Take some time for yourself this week.  Go for a walk, take deep breaths, and eat clean.   Maybe even buy a mini-poinsettia from Trader Joe’s for yourself to brighten your day!  It sure brightened mine yesterday!

poinsettia

 Have you ever tried No Pudge! Brownies?

Has your sweet tooth already been satisfied for the season?

Leave a Reply

