The Stockings Were Hung…

Standard

656827cb24c7a9bc44fda056413635ba1b043ac9_wmeg_00001 (1)

I finally finished the second stocking! Just in time…

These stockings were indeed hung by the chimney TV with care in hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there but are now packed in a suitcase and  soon will be here there

 

DSCN0067

I am getting an early start this morning and heading to southwest Florida with my family to celebrate Christmas. Hello Happy Place!

In an effort to begin my new years resolution early, I’m going wireless for the next 2 weeks and my computer is staying at home. Stephanie is going to hold the fort here at Newly Everything, thanks Steph!

I am armed with a supersized bag of these…

IMAG0506

And I’m sure that all 3 dozen 3 dozen minus 2 minus 3  will arrive to Florida.

Unfortunately, I was not able to make the Christmas cookie exchange. Sounds like the girls had a great time and from Stephanie’s report, made some great treats! I know my dad is excited about the cookie surplus since this is his mom’s recipe.

If you have a strong aversion to anything buttery, sugary, creamy, not so good for you GOODNESS than I suggest that you ignore the ingredient list. The yield is at least 5 dozen.

Italian Ricotta Cookies

Ingredients (Cookies)

  • 1 lb. Butter
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 lb. Ricotta Cheese (I used the part skim variety, but at that point…does it really matter Smile )
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 4 cups Flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Salt

Combine butter, sugar, eggs, ricotta, vanilla and salt and mix until creamed. Add flour and baking soda to the mix. Add more flour if the dough is too sticky. Spoon onto cookie sheets and bake at 350 for 12 minutes. Let cool then frost with icing.

Ingredients (Icing)

  • 2 Tbsp. Butter
  • 2 Tbsp. Milk
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

Mix until spreading consistency then spread or drizzle over the cookies.

I hope you and yours enjoy the happiest of holidays this year. There is lots of new things to come in 2012 and I look forward to sharing it all with you.

I leave you with this quote from one of my favorite holiday movies

Leave a Reply

