Urban Pl8 Inspirations

Standard

Ever since we went to Urban Pl8, I have been intrigued by the Paleo Diet Lifestyle.  In fact, my sister called to tell me that there is a gift certificate waiting for us at Urban Pl8 to use whenever we wish.  We are going to use it after the holidays when things settle down.    

I did some research last week and decided to “dabble” in eating Paleo for a few days which might of had something to do with my weekend of sweets.  I quickly became aware of the fact that I was eating WAY too many whole grains.  It is not uncommon for me to have some sort of whole grain at every meal and snack.   

After 5 days of adopting the Paleo Lifestyle, I have realized a few things.

1.  I do need oatmeal and Greek yogurt.

2.  I don’t need to have whole grains at every meal! 

Honestly, I have not slept this well in a while which is definitely related to my diet.  It was good to take a step back and assess how I felt after each meal because now I know that I feel much better after eating a hard-boiled egg and an apple for a snack versus a bowl of cereal.  Clean eating is the way to go for me.  I just needed to get back to the basics. 

My curiosity did bring me to a few great websites that talk about eating Paleo including Paleo Diet Lifestyle and Everyday Paleo.   They contain information about how to eat Paleo including delicious recipes.

Two nights ago, we had cod and Holiday Brussels Sprouts.  This side dish was super yummy and easy to make especially since I cut the Brussels sprouts before I taught yoga.  The cranberries paired with the walnuts and coconut oil makes for a holiday explosion in your mouth.  Tyler especially liked the cranberries!

brussels

Holiday Brussels Sprouts

(from Sarah Fragoso at Everyday Paleo)

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons grass fed butter, ghee, or coconut oil

1/2 cup yellow onion, finely diced

1 lb Brussels sprouts, halved and then cut into strips

½ cup walnuts, chopped

½ cup dried unsweetened cherries, chopped

2 teaspoons raw organic honey

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large skillet saute the onions in the the butter, ghee or coconut oil until they start to brown and carmelize.  Add the sliced Brussels sprouts and cook until the just become tender.  Add the diced walnuts and cherries and cook for another minute or two and remove from heat.  In a small saucepan melt the honey, add the balsamic vinegar and olive oil and whisk together. Pour the dressing over the Brussels Sprouts and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serves 5-6.

Next New Recipe

Since the Brussels sprouts were such a big hit, I thought I would try my hand at another recipe from Naomi at One Fit Foodie.  Here is a mouthful for you…I made her Paleo Pumpkin Coconut Turkey Chili which she adapted from this recipe (lots of adaptations in the blog world).  Pumpkin and coconut…sounds good to me!  On a side note, I use coconut for everything!  I use it to cook my eggs, saute veggies, and I even use it as a moisturizer.  Check out this article called 8o Uses of Coconut Oil.  It has some great health benefits. 

Back to the chili…

The chili was easy to make and it made our apartment smell sweet and savory all at the same time.  It is not often that I put cinnamon and cocoa in my chili, but it works!  Trust me!

Underneath the layer of tomatoes, tomato paste, and pumpkin you will find big chunks of ground turkey, onions, and peppers.  The flavors were fantastic!

coconut turkey chili

 

  chili and avocado

  We added avocado slices to make it extra creamy and extra good! 

Paleo Pumpkin Coconut Turkey Chili

(recipe from Naomi at One Fit Foodie)

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5 lbs ground turkey (or beef or diced chicken breast)
  • 1.5 C canned pured pumpkin
  • 1 C diced pepper (any color you like)
  • 1 C diced red onion
  • 1/2 C chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 C water
  • 1/2 C white wine (optional but I find adds a delicious flavor!)
  • 16oz organic tomatoes in their juice
  • 3oz tomato paste (this equals about half of the can)
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1.5 T chili powder
  • 1 T pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 T fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 whole cinnamon stick
  • 1 T coconut oil

Directions:

  • Take out a 5 quart pot and place over medium heat. Add the coconut oil and once heated, add the diced onions and peppers to the pot. Let cook for about 5-6 minutes or until tender.
  • Add in the ground turkey (or other meat) and break up with a wooden spoon. Add in the minced garlic at this point as well. Check in every few minutes to stir the meat and make sure it is cooked through.
  • Add in chicken or veggie stock, white wine, water, tomato paste and crushed tomatoes in their juice. Now add coriander, sea salt, cinnamon stick, chili powder, pumpkin pie spice and let simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Add in the canned pure pumpkin, unsweetened cocoa powder and cilantro and cook for an addition 10 minutes.
  • Reduce the heat and let simmer up to 1 hour or serve immediately!

Topping Ideas:

Avocado slices

Shredded coconut

Dollop of Greek yogurt

Today

I trained my client early this morning (I have 2 clients now…hehe) and will teach yoga this morning and tonight.  In between, I will be studying.  Studying???  Yes…studying.  I few days ago, I signed up for a training program to become a Health and Wellness Coach through a program called Wellcoaches.  I think it is important to help the whole person, and I can’t wait to sink my teeth into the material.  It is a 13 week program, and I start in January.  It is clear that I am on the right path given the fact that I am going to read through the material for the first lesson three weeks early. 

Sarah is enjoying time with family this week as will I in a few short days.  Stay safe and healthy!  Again, we appreciate your love and support! 

Have you recently been to a restaurant that has inspired you in any way?

If you use coconut oil, what is your favorite way to use it?

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

