Two of My New Favorite Things

Standard

I wanted to take a few minutes to write a quick post because I have missed all of you!  I hope you have had a nice holiday.  Our holiday is still going!  Tyler’s family is in town until Saturday, and his mom came in from Kansas last night which means that Santa came to our apartment.  Two days late does not matter when you are 28.

I was dying to move given that it has been five days since I really worked out hard.  We did walk yesterday which felt great.  I found this workout in the latest edition of Oxygen Magazine.  I laced up my running shoes and headed down to the gym early this morning.

oxygen workout

To warm-up, I started on the treadmill alternating walking and running for five minutes (one minute hard and one minute recovery).  The total body workout consists of ten exercises, so after my first and second set I got back on the treadmill to walk and run.  After my second set, I stayed on the treadmill for 10 minutes to finish out my workout.  I stretched for about 5 minutes which felt fabulous.  Getting my sweat on always makes me happy!  I successfully jump-started my day.

When I got back to the apartment, Tyler and his mom had just gotten up which made for perfect timing.  I was using my foam roller when I noticed that our stockings were full, and we had gifts on the ground.  Santa had come to town!

Tyler’s mom loves to bake and cook, and we had talked about these two things…

red tongs

Rachael Ray is brilliant!  A lazy spoon and lazy ladle. 

recipe book closedI have been wanting a recipe keeper for a while.  Leave it to my mother-in-law to find the perfect one. 

recipe book openI am looking forward to using both of my new favorite things!  I have some serious organization to do with my recipes that I have been storing in a manila folder, but now they have a home!

We are off to shop, have a light lunch, and head to Roswell for dinner and Crafty Christmas.  It is finally time to exchange gifts!  I had to send my all the way to Alaska to Tyler’s cousin.  I made coasters which was so easy and a lot of fun to make (I also made them for my brother and his family)!  I downloaded pictures that his cousin took, sent them to CVS, and then used Mod Podge to put them on tiles to serve as a coasters.  Ta da!

coasters

Have you had time to get a good workout in after the weekend?

What are some of your new favorite things?

2 responses »

    • Hi Jillian! I assembled my new recipe binder yesterday, and I love it! My mother-in-law got it at Barnes and Noble. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

