Dinner and a Movie

Standard

First of all, Happy New Year!  It is hard to believe that it is almost 2012! 

I did take a few days off from blogging to spend time with family, but it feels so good to get my creative juices flowing again!  Tyler has the week between Christmas and New Year’s off which has been such a treat! 

Yesterday

I went to a much needed yoga class yesterday morning at Peachtree Yoga.  In the afternoon, Tyler, his mom, and I went to see War Horse before going out for dinner.  In my opinion, the movie was okay.  It was slow at times, but the scenery was beautiful. 

Tyler and I went to Iberian Pig in Decatur a few months ago and had a great experience.  The atmosphere is inviting and the food is fantastic.  They serve modern Spanish cuisine, and their menu is very unique.  We knew Tyler’s mom would also like it.

iberian pig

We all wanted wine, of course, so we ordered a bottle of Terrazas de los Andes, Reserva.  I love a smooth Malbec from Argentina. 

malbec

We all ordered something different for dinner.  I was in the mood for something light given the fact that the last five days have been all about food!  I ordered Vieiras con Calabaza which is Maine diver scallops, butternut squash puree, roasted asparagus, charred artichoke escabeche, and soffrito vinaigrette.  The scallops were cooked to perfection!

scallops

Tyler loved his meal the first time we went to Iberian Pig, so he ordered the same thing last night.  He ordered Pork Tenderloin which has parsnip puree, piquillo peppers, swiss chard and roasted wild mushrooms.  The dish is finished with a Cherry-Rioja reduction, spiced walnuts, and crispy shallots.  He savored every bite!

pork tenderloin

Tyler’s mom was in the mood for a burger, so she ordered The Iberian Burger served with eggplant fries which she thought tasted a bit like zucchini.  She was very happy with her choice.

iberian pig hamburger

After dinner, we got a Sturbucks and picked up some mint chocolate chip ice cream from Trader Joe’s to take home with us.  We are an ice cream family!  Dinner and movie always makes for a nice night.  Tyler and I have only seen two movies in the theater since we moved to Atlanta. 

Recent Holiday Purchase

I have been wearing my North Face jacket this winter which I really don’t need 90% of the time.  I was on a mission to find a lightweight, classy, jacket.  We were in Brooks Brothers the other day for Tyler, and Tyler’s mom and I noticed a stunning jacket right by the register.  They were having a great sale….40% off! 

jacket

Stylish and warm!

It is beautiful spring-like day here in Atlanta.  Tyler and I are going to get out and soak up some sunshine.  I am not sure what we are going to do, but we want to be outside because it is going to get cold next week.  We are going to Empire State South tonight to bring in the new year.  Yum!  After tonight, we are getting back on track.  I cannot wait to fill our refrigerator with clean food.  I am looking forward to trying some new recipes in the weeks to come.

HAPPY NEW YEAR YA’LL!  Until next year…Smile

What is your favorite way to spend an evening out?

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

