Jitters

Standard

I’ve got a classic case of the first day of school jitters, but I’ve been out of a classroom for nearly two years.

Today is my first day at my new job in Atlanta. I couldn’t be more excited to be back in the hospital. While I don’t know what to expect, I am sure that this new schedule will require lots of advanced planning (and flexibility) especially where meals and exercise are concerned.

I will be carrying a few of these & these & these in my pockets for quick boosts of protein and energy on the go but I’m hoping that dinners will offer a little more stability. I have a feeling that my slow cooker and I are going to become much better friends.

Last night’s dinner was an easy to prep one-dish-wonder that will likely score a regular spot on our recipe reel. Lady and Son’s Chicken in Wine Sauce compliments of the one of my favorite Georgia gals, Ms. Paula Deen. We lightened up her original recipe with a few low/reduced fat substitutions without cutting any flavor.

IMAG0531

It may not be the prettiest on the plate, but the flavor profile was spot on. As a work week bonus, the meal takes 5 minutes to prep and bakes for 45 minutes. Plenty of time to catch up on the first season of the Good Wife.

The recipe calls for a 1/4 cup of white wine. I saw this on sale at the grocery store…

 

and enjoyed a glass on the side. It was a great glass for the price (sorry dad, I am drinking and enjoying a $7 wine)

Thank you Ms. Deen!

Danny is working from the Atlanta office this week and we have a few more quick, easy and healthful recipes on the docket.

I’ll be looking for some more workweek go-to meals. Please share your favorites!

Do you plan your meals for the week?

Leave a Reply

