Suspension Training

Standard

Happy Wednesday!  We are already halfway through the week!

I feel about 90% better today.  I listened to my body and took it easy yesterday.  I did a little yoga at home and trained my client in the afternoon.  It has been years since I was that sick, and I got a flu shot this year!  I guess you never know whether or not the shot will help.  I do have to give a shout out to my husband because he did everything he could to make sure I was comfortable and hydrated.  He practically forced Pedialyte down my throat (I can’t stand that stuff), but it did aid in my speedy recovery.  My sister told me about a product at Whole Foods called Recharge which is a natural electrolyte drink.  I think I will go with that next time.  Although, I can only hope that there won’t be a next time for a long long long time!

Suspension Training

Since my meals have been pretty bland, I thought I would take this opportunity to talk about my new favorite way to sweat.  It is called Suspension Training.  I have been to a few of the Adrenaline Suspended Training classes where many of the instructors are certified in TRX.  I have started to use the system of ropes and webbing called a “suspension trainer” with my clients.  It is a great way to work against your own body weight while getting a total body workout with an all-core focus.  It is considered a type of resistance training.  The workout incorporates functional movements which increase strength, balance, endurance, posture, and many other benefits.  It is the perfect workout to increase your energy and vitality.  You can do hundreds of exercises for the entire body.  It is important to train in ways that our bodies move in everyday life so that we do not get injured by doing the smallest things like lifting up a sack groceries onto the counter.

suspension training

Here is the workout that I did with my client yesterday.

Warm-up

Use suspension trainer to do 10 squats, 10 lunges (each leg), 10 chest presses (as shown above), and 10 back rows (body is in a prone position).

Circuit 1- Repeat each circuit two to three times followed by a cardio blast.

  • suspension trainer squats (30 seconds)
  • jumping jacks (30 seconds)

One minute sprint on treadmill.

Circuit 2

  • suspension trainer lunges (30 seconds)
  • high knees (30 seconds)

One minute sprint on treadmill.

Circuit 3

  • suspension trainer chest press (30 seconds)
  • jump rope 30 seconds

One minute sprint on treadmill.

Circuit 4

  • suspension trainer back rows (30 seconds)
  • hop overs…I used a jump rope (30 seconds)

One minute sprint on treadmill.

Cool Down

Stretch, stretch, stretch.  Take 5 to 10 minutes to stretch.  Hold each stretch for 30 seconds and breathe into the area that is being stretched.  Relax. Smile

stretch

Suspension Training is for everyone.  I highly recommend trying a Suspension Training class if you are looking to spice up for your workout routine.  I was sore for at least 4 days which I love…call me crazy!

Get out there and try a new way to sweat this year!  Our muscles get bored and therefore do not change if we do not stress our muscles in different ways every 4 to 6 weeks.  You will see results if you challenge yourself just a little bit each time you sweat.

Have a great day!  I am teaching yoga today which means I get to use my new playlist.  Hopefully, everyone likes it!

Have you ever tried Suspension Training?

What is your favorite new way to sweat?

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: You Are What You Eat « Newly Everything

  2. Pingback: Breakfast of Champions « Newly Everything

  3. Pingback: I Tried Suspension Training And It Almost Killed Me - Dina RunsDina Runs

Leave a Reply

