Back to Normal

Standard

It has been two whole weeks since I made a real, clean, meal in our kitchen.  With the holidays and me being sick, I have not had/wanted to cook.  My palette has been craving pretty bland things like Ramen, bananas, toast, and poached eggs this week.  It takes a while to get your stomach back to normal.  I was starving when I woke up this morning which is a good sign. 

ramon

Ramen sure does bring me back to my college days when I would eat two packages at once!  We actually always had some on hand when I was growing up.  It pretty much has no nutritional value.  Oh well! 

Anyway, my tummy was ready for a real meal last night especially since all I have been reading about is resolutions to eat whole foods.  I have had little to no color in my diet this week which is so not like me!  Tyler was super excited that I wanted to cook last night.   For the last three nights, he had soup from a can and a salad.  He never complained Smile.  He just wanted me to feel better.

On the Menu

I baked wild Alaskan salmon from Costco at 375 for 20 minutes.  I put a little EVOO, a sprinkle of ginger, and lemon slices on top of each piece.  We can’t wait for Tyler to go back to Alaska because the salmon is phenomenal.  He brought back 35 pounds of salmon the last time he went to Alaska for a fishing trip with the guys.

salmon

I steamed some green beans from Trader Joe’s which are already trimmed and cleaned.  Awesome!

green beans

I cooked a new to us mushroom and herb risotto mix from Trader Joe’s.

risotto

Ahhhh….one of my favorite meals.  By the way, the risotto was delish!

 salmon dinner

I am looking forward to eating lots and lots of vegetables this weekend to get back on track.

Today, I think I am ready to tackle a new class at the gym that involves strength and cardio which I need right now.  It is called BODYPUMP/CXWORX Combo.  Afterwards, I am going to have some chocolate milk as suggested by Annette at Enjoy Your Healthy Life.

The Benefits of Chocolate Milk After A Workout

  • Helps to build muscle
  • Replenishes muscle “fuel”
  • Helps to maintain lean muscle
  • Aides in subsequent performance

Next week is going to be a busy but fun week because I start my training with Wellcoaches to become a Certified Health and Wellness Coach.  Also, our (mine and Sarah’s) friend, Colleen, is coming to visit from Chicago for the weekend.  Watch out Atlanta!  We can’t wait to show her our new city!  There is so much to share and so little time.  We will make the most of our time together.

How many days does it take before you start missing your kitchen and cooking for yourself?

When is the last time you ate Ramen?

 

Leave a Reply

