A Motto Worth Exploring

Standard

My weekend was full of down dogs, practice drills, and reflection.  I am sore, but I practice yoga because it feels damn good!

water bottle

Tyler bought this for me as a birthday present when we were at lululemon after Christmas.  The saying is so fitting and explains why I practice yoga almost everyday.

We have one weekend left of teacher training which is hard to believe.  We have all learned so much about ourselves as people as well as yoga instructors.  The experience has been one that I will cherish forever.  I have met some wonderful people who I know will always be with me as I grow as yoga instructor and person in my community.  After 2oo hours, you form a certain bond with a group.  It is bond that cannot be replicated or replaced.  The yoga community is welcoming, supportive, and forgiving.  It really is so much easier to be kind and loving which is what I preached in my class when I taught elementary school.

It is always hard for me to transition back into the “real world” after a weekend of training.  For two days, it feels as though the world has stopped and all of its problems have been solved.  Everyone is happy, healthy, and stress-free.  There is so much we can learn from yoga, so please try a class if you have not because it feels damn good!  It nurtures the mind, body, and soul.  Pure bliss!  It is worth your time.

In less than a month, we will have a graduation at Peachtree Yoga.  Our families and friends can come which will be nice.  The one person that will be missing for me is my mom because she has been so supportive throughout my whole journey.  It will be fun to meet everyone’s loved ones.  It was tough to give up 10 weekends especially as a newlywed, but Tyler’s support never waivered.  It is a big deal to complete a 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training because it opens so many doors for yoga instructors.  You can go on to get your 500 hour or even 1000 hour certification.  I am happy with 200 hours of training (for now).  I will be able to put RYT200 at the end of my name.  Hehe!  RYT stands for Registered Yoga Teacher with the Yoga Alliance which only enhances one’s credibility as a yoga instructor.  I am certainly looking forward to February 4th!

Breakfast

Two days ago, I made some steel cut oats because I wanted a change from my regular rolled oats.  it is so much easier to make steel cut oats ahead of time because they take forever to cook!  All I had to do was add some almond milk and put it in a the microwave for 1 minute.  Of course, I added my favorites including bee pollen, flaxseed, and blueberries.  I also had eggs on the side for some protein.  I used one whole egg and one egg white, and I topped them with turmeric, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes.  I heard about this trio on a Dr. Oz show last year, and I have been hooked ever since!

breakfast

 Tosca Reno would be proud!

I feel ready to take on the day!  It is gloomy and cold outside which is kind of nice.  It is supposed to storm later today, so I might curl up on the couch with a cup of tea from Starbucks.  I have not used my free birthday drink yet!

I am very excited because I get to sub for someone this morning at a studio where I will be teaching in a few weeks.  I will let you know the name of the studio once I feel like the class is a go!  Until then, I am going to teach as much yoga as I can to gain experience.  I am all about diving right in!

Happy Monday!

Why do you do yoga?

What did you eat this morning to start your day off right?

7 responses »

    • Thank you for stopping by our blog! I love your background and concept for your blog! I am excited about the journey to come.

  1. I love this post!! And I LOVE that saying – I practice because it feels damn good (body, mind and soul). I cannot believe it’s almost over and how much you all have grown (oh, wait, me too!!) – I am excited to hear all about your new journeys with your upcoming classes and look forward to taking one soon:) This morning, I ate my trusty oatmeal with 1/4 cup skim ricotta cheese (for protein), 1 tbs nut butter (for fat), bee pollen (for health;) and a square of dark chocolate to melt on top (just for fun:) though you might like that!! xo

    • Your breakfast sounds amazing! I will have to try the ricotta and dark chocolate melted on top of my oatmeal :). Have a great week!

  2. I appreciate my yoga mat; it helps me find peace, it grounds me, it brings me inspiration, and mostly… it helps me become a more flexible person (inside and out).

    Congratulations on the ‘license to yoga’ 😀 Well done!

    What a gift to share with all that are open-minded!

    I liked your post; hope you don’t mind the pingback~

    • We don’t mind the pingback at all. We are glad you stopped by! Yoga helps me to become more flexible (inside and out) as well!

  3. Pingback: Vulnerability « justsimplybe | Tuesday2's Blog

Leave a Reply

