A Bittersweet Ending

Standard

All good things must come to an end.  My yoga training was a good thing.  My weekend was bittersweet because it was the last full weekend of my yoga teacher training.  We have one more day together, and then we graduate.  I am sad but excited at the same time because I feel like I have the tools in my toolbox now to be a great yoga teacher, and I will forever have the memories we shared and special space we created together.

If it were not for my sister encouraging me to send in my application to Peachtree Yoga even though the class was full, I would not of had the opportunity to meet so many wonderful yogis and learn so much about myself.  There is so much more to yoga than the physical, but you have to be open to its other benefits.  I am much calmer and less reactive than I was when I started my training.  Tyler is very happy with the effects.

On Saturday, my mentor group and I went out to lunch.  We were all hungry and open to whatever.  Rachel’s (my mentor) boyfriend recommended a place called Café Jonah in Buckhead because it is a farm to table restaurant.  As you can see, it used to be a house which is very common around these parts.  I love quaint and homey places like Café Jonah!

image

The food is fresh, local, and healthy.  What more could a foodie living in Atlanta ask for?

The story behind the restaurant is sweet.  The excerpt below was written by Jenny, the owner.  I figured I would not even try to summarize… 

Cafe Jonah and the Magical Attic is a combination of all the things I love. Fresh food, a warm and comfortable surrounding and a friendly staff… With a little bit of fun and surprise thrown in! I have enjoyed watching Souper Jenny grow and thrive over the years, and I’m delighted to offer another special place here in Atlanta.

I named Cafe Jonah after my son, simply because he asked. I want him to know the community he lives in and to learn about food, service and what his Mommy does in a warm environment.

Every Sunday We offer “Pay What You Think It’s Worth” Sunday Brunch and we give 10% of our daily sales every day to local charities

Cafe Jonah is open year round and is the perfect spot for a great coffee, a fabulous pastry or grilled breakfast sandwich. It’s a relaxed spot for lunch or a latte with a friend.

The magical attic is filled with inspirational, books, candles, aromatherapy and yes, the occasional psychic!

Come in and join us for some fun!

I second Jenny’s recommendation!  My lunch was delicious.  I especially loved the grilled veggies!

jonas 2

Along with my veggies, I had their famous chicken salad made with greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise and a wheatberry salad made with artichokes.  Since I did not choose anything that was crunchy, I tried their flatbread which was excellent.

jonah lunch

Rachel was also excited about her plate of yummy food!

rachel

It was nice to have lunch with everyone.  Normally, we split off into groups or do our own thing as a way to unwind from the intensity of training. 

As I said before, the weekend was bittersweet, but I am ready to spread my wings and fly.  My plan is to teach as much yoga as I can in order to find my true voice and rhythm as a teacher.  Yes, I have been teaching, but I feel different now.  I have so much to share with my current and future students! 

image

Who wouldn’t love to share this pose with their students? Restorative yoga is awesome!  It is a must for anyone looking for stress relief and/or rest and relaxation.  Get out there and try it because you will be hooked!

Today

It is a rainy day here in Atlanta.  I would love to curl up on the couch with a cup of tea and a good book, but I have to catch up on a few things since I was busy all weekend.  Oh well!  Maybe another rainy day!  RPM is next on the list.  After a weekend of yoga, I always crave a good sweat session. 

Have a great day! 

Have you experienced a bittersweet ending recently?

 

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

