Presenting…What I Ate Wednesday

Standard

image

Breakfast

I took some advice from Oxygen Magazine’s Fat-Blasting Food Guide about what I should eat before working out.  Therefore, I had a bowl of high fiber cereal, 1/2 cup of milk (I used almond), a sliced banana, and cinnamon.  On the side, I had a small cup of decaf coffee with a splash of almond milk.  I was ready for BodyPUMP!

cereal and banana

My muscles were hungry when I got home.  I whipped together one of my favorite post-workout snacks which I read about in last month’s issue of Oxygen.  It tastes a lot better than it looks!

protein pudding

Chocolate Protein Pudding

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

2 tablespoons chia

1/4 cup to 1/3 cup milk—> I used almond milk.

Handful of berries

Optional: 1 tablespoon cocoa powder

Directions

Combine all of the ingredients.  Let mixture sit for at least five minutes.  The chia seeds should expand and bind to the other ingredients to form a very yummy post-workout treat!  Who doesn’t love chocolate pudding?

Tea Time

tea

Lunch

Taylor, one of the girls from the group that Sarah introduced me to, had us over for lunch.  It was very good!

I a little bit of this…

green salad

A little bit of taco chili…

taco chili

And some of these on the side…

chips

 Snack

For a snack, I wanted something light after having such a big lunch.  I opted for a large spoonful of almond butter + Oikos greek yogurt.  Very satisfying!

oikos

Dinner

I don’t normally toot my own horn, but dinner was really good.  I made a new farro recipe (one of my favorite grains), broccoli, and chicken that I baked on Monday. 

farro

Roasted Vegetables with Farro and Greens

(adapted from Claire at Live and Love to Eat and this recipe)

  • 1 cup farro, dry
  • 2.5 cups water
  • 2 tsp salt, divided
  • 1 tsp thyme (I used dried)
  • 2 sweet potatoes, scrubbed and chopped (I did not add these)
  • 1 roasted red pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped (I used a red onion)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of walnuts, lightly toasted & chopped
  • 1 head / 3 cups greens (I used spinach)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmigiano reggiano
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic glaze (or 2 tsp balsamic vinegar + 2 tsp honey)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Bring farro, water, and 1 tsp salt to a boil; reduce to a simmer and cover for 40-50 minutes, until desired consistency is reached / water is absorbed.
  3. While farro cooks, chop potatoes, pepper, and onion into even-sized pieces (about 1 inch).  Toss with remaining teaspoon of salt, thyme, and olive oil, and spread in a single layer on a sprayed baking sheet.
  4. Bake vegetables on middle rack, and flip every 15 minutes until slightly browned (mine took about 40 minutes).
  5. Steam or saute greens until cooked down.  I separated the kale, tore it into small pieces, and steamed it for about 2 minutes.
  6. Drain farro and stir in roasted vegetables, nuts, greens, and parmesan.  Season with additional salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Drizzle with balsamic glaze and serve.
  8. Serves 4-6 as a side dish, 3-4 as a main dish.

Dessert

Dessert was one of these babies…

image

 Take some time for yourself today!

Do you have a favorite farro recipe?

 

Leave a Reply

