New Year, New Job, New Snacks!

Standard

I am proud to introduce Rachel, my yoga mentor, as our third guest blogger.  Enjoy her post about the new things in her life.  Thank you, Rachel! 

It may seem a little late for a “New Years” post, but this year brings many new routines for me. After working as a freelance yoga instructor by day and pet-sitter by night for a year, I returned to my field in marketing services on January 3 of this year. It’s amazing that after only a year of being away from a 9-5 it’s such a new experience to be back in the corporate life again.

Pre-new awesome job, the boyfriend and I enjoyed our favorite ways to ring in the New Year: make new awesome foods, watch way too many episodes of Jeopardy and cuddle with our cat, Cookie.

image

Our new years menu included many delicious things including goat cheese with red pepper jelly on flax crackers, cedar plank roasted salmon with lemon and thyme…and the kicker – DESSERT HUMMUS!

I know what you’re thinking…beans cannot be dessert, that’s just crossing the line. But, trust me – sweet hummus is amazing (especially when you add lots of dark chocolate chunks;). I kept reading recipes on many healthy living blogs and eventually made up my own version based on many that I saw. Oh man, it was delicious and tricked me into thinking I was eating raw cookie dough for dessert. We served ours with apple slices, mini graham cracker sticks and marshmallows.

image

“Cookie Dough Hummus”

Ingredients:

· 2 cups chickpeas

· 1/4 cup natural peanut butter

· 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons maple syrup

· 1/2 Tablespoon vanilla extract

  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (or anything else you want to add in)

Drain, measure, wash, and peel your chickpeas. Peeling them isn’t absolutely necessary but it makes for the creamiest hummus and really is worth the effort.

In a food processor, add the first 4 ingredients and process until the hummus is smooth and emulsified (the one thing no one wants for dessert is chunky chickpea pieces in their dessert).

Remove and lick the blade and fold in the chocolate chips. Consume like a Cookie Monster!

image

Blog posting is also new to me, so thank you to Stephanie and Sarah for letting me stop by to post my two cents on Newly Everything. These ladies are so amazing and inspiring! Hope you all enjoy some new blessings this year and lots of Cookie Hummus:)

❤ Rachel

image

Leave a Reply

