Good Eats and Some Treats

Standard

Good Morning! 

I tried many new recipes yesterday.  My taste buds were having a dance party! 

image 

Breakfast

My breakfast usually contains some sort of oats.  I tried a recipe from Claire at Live and Love to Eat.  It was a essentially a “pie crust” topped with yogurt.  Oh my goodness.  This is my new favorite breakfast because it is filling and nutritious and delicious!

image

I finally bought some amande yogurt.  The strawberry flavor is AMAZING!

image

Homemade pie crust!

Yogurt Pie

[Live and Love to Eat]

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 Tbsp almond butter
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk

Mix, microwave, and let sit for about 10 minutes.  You could even make the crust the night before and bring it to work with you!

Top with your favorite yogurt!  Add some berries or a banana for an added bonus.

image

I savored every last bite!  It really does taste like strawberry pie. 

Post-Workout Snack

After I got my you know what kicked in Suspension Training, I decided to swing by Starbucks for a Tazo Vanilla Rooibos Full Leaf Tea to take home with me.

I bought my tea with a special Starbucks Valentine’s card that my mom sent me.  Thanks, Mom!

image

I don’t ever remember Starbucks having a Valentine’s Day cup, but this one is adorable!  It made me smile.

Love is right!

image

My muscles were starving, so I immediately blended up a green smoothie in a bowl of course.   I have figured out how to make the perfect smoothie bowl.  See the recipe below!

photo

Don’t let the color deter you from trying this smoothie.  It really hits the spot after a sweat session.  FYI, I am glad I had a hot tea ready to go after my smoothie in a bowl.  Brrr!

Green Smoothie in a Bowl 

  • 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein
  • 1 tablespoon raw cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful of spinach
  • 5 ice cubes—> I have tested this many times, and 5 ice cubes is the magic number!

Blend all ingredients together. 

Lunch

Lunch is a time that I like to play around with my taste buds.  I was craving something warm and soothing to the soul so I made savory oats with a poached egg on top thanks to Chelsey.

 image

Savory Oats

[adapted from Chelsey’s recipe]

  • 1/4 buckwheat oats—> new favorite oats
  • any veggies you have on hand
  • one egg
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 avocado
  • hot sauce—> optional
  • cayenne pepper—> optional

Directions

Make your outs (any kind will do) according to the directions.  Set aside.  In a skillet, saute your favorite veggies.  Pour into your bowl.  Using the same skillet, add about 2 tablespoons of water to poach your egg.  Cover and cook for 4-5 minutes.  Pour oat mixture over veggies.  Sprinkle with nutritional yeast.  Top with egg, avocado, hot sauce, and cayenne pepper.  Enjoy!

 Snack

I love me some good ‘ol Kashi Go Lean cereal topped with almond milk and some blueberries.  It is definitely one of my favorite snacks, and I love to eat it on my lap…hehe!

photo-1

Dinner

Last week, Lauren posted a recipe for turkey sloppy joe’s made with ground turkey.  I was sold and could not wait to make it.  For the green part of our meal, I chose to steam up some broccoli and cauliflower.  This new eat is sure to be a favorite in our household!

 image

Turkey Sloppy Joe’s

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 60z can of tomato sauce
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • 1 T yellow mustard
  • 1/4 C ketchup
  • 1 T cumin
  • 1 T chili powder

Directions: Sautee the turkey in a large skillet.  After a minute, add the garlic and mix.  In a small bowl, combine the tomato sauce, brown sugar, mustard, ketchup and spices.  Once the meat is cooked, add the sauce and stir.  Let the mixture come to a soft boil, then reduce the heat to medium low and let cook down for 10-12 minutes.

You can go the traditional route and serve this on a yummy roll or 100 calorie hamburger bun from Trader Joe’s or you can make it into a salad.

Sweet Endings

Tyler and I like to have something sweet after dinner, but we don’t want something that will weigh us down.  We decided to try the Soy Creamy Mini Chocolate Sandwiches from Trader Joe’s.  For only 90 calories, they are really good.  I go back and forth on whether or not I should eat soy, but I figure that a little ice cream bar won’t hurt me. 

image

Phew!  When I read back through what I ate, it sure does look like a lot.  I guess am one active girl who loves her whole foods minus the sweet treat at the end of the day!

Have a happy day!

How do you feel about savory oats?

What are your thoughts on soy products?

4 responses »

  1. love that savory oats and egg idea. i am definitely going to try it~ i still haven’t tried cooking my oats with egg whites… also the turkey sloppy joes look awesome! i love turkey meatloaf and chili (unfortunately for me S doesn’t like either:( have a great day!

Leave a Reply

