Breakfast of Champions

Standard

Starting the day off with a hearty breakfast is a must for me.  As of late, my favorite way to start my day includes oats, bananas, and almond butter.  Today, I whipped together an oatmeal pancake thanks to Tina and Kath (two of my favorite bloggers). 

I have a feeling it is going to be a great day!

image

Before I ate my delicious pancake, I had a huge glass of lemon and lime water to hydrate after a long night of sleeping (BTW, I slept so well last night).  Anyway, give the lemon and lime water a try!

Oatmeal Pancake

(Recipe from Tina and Kath)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup oats
1/3 cup liquid egg whites
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Cinnamon to taste
Toppings to taste
Optional: 1/2 a mashed banana or 1/4 cup canned pumpkin, squash or mashed sweet potato.

Directions:

  • Mix together oats and egg whites with baking powder, vanilla extract and cinnamon in a bowl. Optional: add half a mashed banana or other ingredients to the batter.
  • Preheat a skillet, spray with non-stick spray or coconut oil, and pour your batter in while shaping it into a large disc “pancake” with a spoon.
  • Heat until partially cooked and flip pancake.
  • Once cooked through, top with syrup, nut butter, canned pumpkin, fresh fruit or banana slices.

One pancake is approximately 150 calories.

Today

I did not get to take a yoga class for myself over the weekend, so I am going to one this morning to Yoga Samadhi.  The instructor is very well-known in the Atlanta yoga community, and I have never had the opportunity to go to one of her classes.  I am looking forward to taking it all in!  I am teaching tonight, so hopefully I will get some new ideas to share with my students. 

This week is going to be busy with training, teaching, studying, and cooking.  I am going to make a nice Valentine’s Day dinner tomorrow night including salmon and quinoa.  I am also working on toning up right now, so I am going to try and make it to two Suspension Training classes this week.  It is such a different way to train your muscles.  Feels so good!

Happy Valentine’s Day Eve

What is your breakfast of champions as of late?

Leave a Reply

