It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Standard

I used to love watching Mr. Rogers!   It is a beautiful day in the neighborhood, Friends.  The weather in Atlanta is perfect today!  It is 75 degrees, sunny, and not a cloud in the sky.  It is supposed to dip back down into the 50s over the weekend, but, after today, I can’t hardly wait for Spring!!!   We have heard that Atlanta really comes alive come March 1st. 

After a tough Suspension Training workout this morning with my boss (he kicked our you know what), I met a good friend from my yoga training for lunch at Café Jonah.  I was starving!  Unfortunately, I did not get a photo of my lunch, but I ordered the cod with mixed greens and a side of cauliflower made with tahini, sesame seeds, and parsley.  It was one healthy lunch!  We sat outside, soaked up some rays (I got some color on my cheeks…hehe), and had a nice chat.  We hope to keep up with our lunch dates.  Luckily, our schedules are similar, so lunch dates are easier to schedule than dinner.  It is very important to me to keep up with people that bring positive energy into my life, and Natalie is one of those people. 

Last Night

Last night, I tried a new recipe which I learned about from Dr. Andrew Weil when I was watching Dr. Oz last week.  Tyler loves really good Italian food, and I rarely make it.  Sorry, Honey!  I thought that this recipe would satisfy both of our taste buds.  This mini Mediterranean meal is loaded with heart healthy ingredients such as tuna, olive oil, capers, and whole wheat pasta.   The best part is that it is easy to make and budget friendly!  We needed something green, so I roasted some broccoli and cauliflower in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.  

photo

Tyler said that I could have fooled him that this dish was healthy. He has requested that this meal show up once a week. Done, done, and done!

Dr. Andrew Weil’s Pasta Puttanesca with Tuna

(recipe from Dr. Andrew Weil)

Ingredients

2 (28 oz) cans Italian tomatoes, drained and crushed
4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp dried hot red pepper flakes
2 tbsp capers

1/2 cup black olives, pitted and chopped—> I did not add these because I am just not an olive person.
3 mashed garlic cloves
2 tbsp fresh basil leaves, minced
1 lb dried pasta
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

1 package/can of healthy pouch/canned tuna (low-mercury type)

Directions

In a large bowl, combine the tomatoes, olive oil, red pepper flakes, capers, olives, garlic and basil. Let stand at room temperature for 1 hour. Add the tuna to the mix. Cook the pasta in rapidly boiling water until al dente. Drain well. Toss the hot pasta with the tomato mixture. Add the grated Parmesan cheese and serve immediately.  Enjoy!

Today

In about 45 minutes, I have my class for my wellness coach training.  I look forward to our 90 minute sessions because I always come away feeling energized.  We are already halfway through the course which is hard to believe.  Tonight, I am teaching at Yoga Samadhi.  I am hoping that the class builds up soon.  It takes a while, so I need to be patient Smile.  

It is hard to believe that it is Friday tomorrow!  We have a busy weekend ahead of us including wrapping up our taxes, but I know we will also make time for some R&R. 

Have a wonderful weekend!  Remember to make time for yourself! 

What is your favorite Italian recipe that is healthy?

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Had a fabulous time checking out your new hometown last weekend in spite of the weather. Always great to spend time with you and Tyler!

Leave a Reply

