Mindful Eating

Standard

Hello! 

We are having somewhat of a lazy morning, but we are planning to head out for a walk and a trip to either Whole Foods or Starbucks to get our coffee fix.  The pollen is pretty bad around these parts, so the earlier we get out the better!  My nose has been itching like crazy.

Yesterday, I jumped on the opportunity to go to a special event at Exhale in Midtown.  The workshop was called Mindful Eating with David Orozco.  March is National Nutrition Month, so it is fitting that they offered a class on nutrition specifically around fitness.  I , of course, signed up right away and ate up every minute of it.  David is amazing!!!  He is their in-house registered dietician.

What pictures come to your mind when you think of mindful eating? 

Maybe this…

image

Or this…

image

How about this?

image

Whether eating mindfully means eating well, taking the planet into consideration, or slowing down while you eat…these are all aspects of eating mindfully.  David focused on mindful eating for fitness which is not very different from eating for overall well-being.  The only difference is making sure that you are fueling properly for your body before and after your workout. 

David highlights three important things when it comes to eating for fitness.  They are when to eat, what to eat, and the importance of timing.  I don’t want to rewrite all of the information that he gave us, but I will tell you that it is worth your while to do some research and go through some trial and error to figure out how to fuel your body to super charge your workout in order to reach your fitness goals.  Some need to eat more while others are eating enough but need to balance things out throughout the day.  Think whole foods Smile.

Interestingly enough, my cycle instructor quoted someone the other day during class.  She said, “A goal without a plan is just a wish.”  I completely agree.  A huge part of what I have learned in my wellness coach training is how important goals and, consequently, plans are in achieving your dreams.  As David said, “It is all about balance!”  LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! 

If you rather satisfy your sweet tooth with a piece of this…

image

Versus this…

image

Then go ahead! 

Just

image

and think before you eat anything.   If you are going to have a piece of pie then ENJOY it and be done.  Bottom line, find your healthy balance. 

Most of the time I practice mindful eating.  I am working on really slowing down and chewing my food.  My big takeaway was that I need to fuel with whole foods after my workouts.  My gym is 20 to 30 minutes from our apartment, so I don’t get home until 45 to 60 minutes after my workout.  I am usually starving.  David suggests eating a meal (if it works out) versus a snack.  He also said to listen to my body!  I am not as hungry after teaching yoga versus taking a cycle class.  Also, be sure to eat a little more protein after a strength workout. 

Lastly, dieting is a no no!!!

image

Focus on being mindful and aware when nourishing your body. 

image

I hope your found this post to be both fun and informative.  If anything, maybe it is making you think about whether or not you are eating mindfully.  Nutrition is very powerful.  Eat whole foods as much as possible!

Ommmmm!

image

 

Note:  All of the pictures came from here…http://www.google.com/search?q=mindful+eating&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=szS&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&prmd=imvnsb&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=_Q5vT-vGAqi42wXE_5nyAQ&ved=0CGkQsAQ&biw=1252&bih=585

what does mindful eating mean to you?

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: You are what you eat | Holistic me

  2. Pingback: So you had a bad day? | Fit for a year

Leave a Reply

